## Region and Language

See [International Customers](/content/site/countries.html).

From the Windows Control Panel, open Region.

For the most part, Open Dental will look and behave similarly for everyone. However, the following are determined by Region and Language settings:

- [Language Translations](/content/manual/languages.html) are only available when the Region and Language setting is set to a foreign language.
- [Canada](/content/manual/canada.html) users must have their setting set to English (Canada) to view Canadian features.
- Currency symbols and date format are affected by Region and Language.
- Region and Language on the workstations should match the setting _Language and region used by program_ found in [Preferences](/content/manual/preferences.html).

After changing the Region and Language settings, restart Open Dental.

## Troubleshooting

**Problem: I type in a language that combines characters (e.g. Arabic, Korean) and I use IME keyboard. How do I allow composition typing in Open Dental?**

Solution: Enable _Text boxes use foreign language Input Method Editor (IME) composition_ in Preferences.

**Problem: I receive this message when I start Open Dental.**

Solution: This warning means the database setting for language and region is different than the computer's setting. You can change the computer setting to match the database setting, change the database setting to match the computer setting, or leave settings as is. You can also stop this warning from showing on this computer. In Preferences, click **[... ]** next to _Language and region used by program_, then check the _Do not show this window on startup_ box.

**When launching Open Dental, I get a warning that the computer is not using the recommended decimal settings.**

The workstation is currently set to use something other than two decimal places for currency. The current Windows setting is indicated in the warning. Follow the instructions in the warning to update the current setting in the Windows Control Panel. Check _Do not show this window on startup (this computer only)_ if you wish to keep this setting and no longer want to receive this warning.
